Many specialist support agencies offer an Independent Sexual Violence Adviser (ISVA) service to victims/survivors of rape and sexual assault. The Independent Sexual Violence Adviser role was commissioned by Baroness Stern through the Home Office Violent Crime Unit in 2005.

An ISVA is trained to look after your needs, and to ensure that you receive care and understanding. They will help you understand how the criminal justice process works, and will explain things to you, such as what will happen if you report to the police, and the importance and process of forensic DNA retrieval.

An ISVA is there to provide you with information only so that you can make the right decision for you. By contacting them, you are not expected to report any offence to the police. 

Whilst every effort is made to keep this section up to date, changes can happen that we may be unaware of. Please let us know if edits need to be made, links are no longer working or out-of-date information is displayed. Please email [email protected]

Find Support | Find a SARC

Enter your postcode to find an ISVA service in your area

1. Lancashire Victim Services ISVA

Area covered: LancashireRead more

2. Trust House Reading ISVA

Area covered: ReadingRead more

3. Victim Support NI Foyle

Area covered: Antrim & Newtownabbey, Causeway Coast & Glens, Derry City & Strabane, Fermanagh & Omagh, Mid & East Antrim and Mid-UlsterRead more

4. Victim Support NI Belfast

Area covered: Armagh City, Banbridge & Craigavon, Belfast City, Lisburn City & Castlereagh, Newry City, Mourne & Down, North Down & ArdsRead more

5. Ynys Saff SARC

Area covered: Cardiff and Vale of GlamorganRead more

6. Cyfannol Women's Aid - Horizon

Area covered: Gwent-wideRead more

7. New Pathways - Mid Wales Support Centre

Area covered: Mid WalesRead more

8. New Pathways - Bow Street SARC

Area covered: AberystwythRead more

9. New Pathways - Ty Coeden Bedw

Area covered: PowysRead more

10. New Pathways - Maple Tree Centre

Area covered: NewportRead more

11. New Pathways - Beech Tree Centre

Area covered: SwanseaRead more

12. New Pathways - Elm Tree House

Area covered: CarmarthenRead more

13. New Pathways - Laburnum House

Area covered: GwentRead more

14. New Pathways - Willow House

Area covered: Merthyr TydfilRead more

15. Support After Rape & Sexual Violence Leeds

Area covered: LeedsRead more

16. Sheffield Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre

Area covered: SheffieldRead more

18. Barnsley Sexual Abuse and Rape Crisis Services

Area covered: BarnsleyRead more

19. Kirklees and Calerdale Rape & Sexual Abuse Centre

Area covered: Kirklees and CalderdaleRead more

20. Bradford Rape Crisis and Sexual Abuse Survivors Service

Area covered: Bradford districtRead more

21. Survivors Manchester ISVA

Area covered: ManchesterRead more

22. West Mercia Rape & Sexual Abuse Support Centre

Area covered: Herefordshire and WorcestershireRead more

23. Black Country Women's Aid

Area covered: West MidlandsRead more

24. Coventry Rape & Sexual Abuse Centre

Area covered: CoventryRead more


Area covered: NewcastleRead more


Area covered: Birmingham and SolihullRead more


Area covered: WarwickshireRead more

28. Safeline ISVA

Area covered: WarwickshireRead more

29. Victims First Northumbria

Area covered: Northumberland, North & South Tyneside, Sunderland and GatesheadRead more

30. Barnardo’s Sexual Exploitation Children’s Outreach Service

Area covered: Middlesbrough, Stockton on Tees, Hartlepool, Redcar and ClevelandRead more

31. Arch North East ISVA

Area covered: Middlesbrough, Stockton, Redcar & Cleveland and HartlepoolRead more

32. Survivors Network ISVA

Area covered: Brighton and HoveRead more

33. The Saturn Centre SARC

Area covered: SussexRead more


Area covered: Epsom & Ewell, Mole Valley, Reigate & Banstead, Tandridge, Crawley, Horsham, Mid-Sussex, Adur & WorthingRead more

35. RASASC Guildford ISVA

Area covered: Surrey and surrounding boundariesRead more

36. The Ferns SARC

Area covered: SuffolkRead more

37. Pathway Project

Area covered: Burntwood, Lichfield, Tamworth and a part of Burton-upon-TrentRead more

38. Savana ISVA

Area covered: North StaffordshireRead more

39. Axis Counselling ISVA

Area covered: Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin and the immediate surrounding areaRead more

40. Topaz Centre

Area covered: NottinghamshireRead more

41. The Harbour Centre

Area covered: NorfolkRead more

42. RASA Merseyside

Area covered: MerseysideRead more

43. Rape Crisis South London

Area covered: South LondonRead more

44. Respond ISVA

Area covered: LondonRead more

45. Women & Girls Network

Area covered: LondonRead more

46. Open Doors

Area covered: City, Hackney, Tower Hamlets and NewhamRead more

47. Survivors UK ISVA

Area covered: LondonRead more

48. The Blue Door

Area covered: North and North East Lincolnshire, Hull and East Riding of YorkshireRead more

49. Free-VA

Area covered: LeicesterRead more

50. SAFE Centre

Area covered: LancashireRead more

51. Renaissance

Area covered: Blackpool, Fylde and WyreRead more

52. East Kent Rape Crisis Centre ISVA

Area covered: Canterbury, Ashford, Ramsgate and Folkestone areasRead more

53. Family Matters ISVA

Area covered: Kent, West Mercia and SE LondonRead more

54. Hampton Trust

Area covered: Isle of WightRead more

55. Herts SARC

Area covered: HertfordshireRead more

56. Yellow Door ISVA

Area covered: Southampton and Western HampshireRead more

57. Aurora New Dawn

Area covered: South EastRead more

58. Basingstoke Rape and Sexual Abuse Crisis Centre

Area covered: North Hampshire including Basingstoke, Silchester, Bramley, Sherbourne St. John, Oakley, Tadley, Alton, Hook, Fleet and FarnboroughRead more

59. Gloucestershire Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre

Area covered: GloucestershireRead more

60. St Mary's SARC

Area covered: Greater Manchester and CheshireRead more

61. South Essex Rape and Incest Crisis Centre

Area covered: South East EssexRead more


Area covered: DorsetRead more

63. SV2 ISVA

Area covered: DerbyshireRead more

64. The Bridgeway SARC

Area covered: CumbriaRead more

65. Victim Support Cumbria

Area covered: CumbriaRead more

66. First Light ISVA

Area covered: Cornwall, Devon and WiltshireRead more

67. RASASC Cheshire & Merseyside ISVA

Area covered: Cheshire and MerseysideRead more

68. The Elms SARC

Area covered: CambridgeshireRead more

71. Solace SARC

Area covered: Thames ValleyRead more

72. The Emerald Centre SARC

Area covered: BedfordshireRead more